A Washington landlord who wishes to evict a tenant for non-payment of rent must serve a notice to pay rent or vacate, a.k.a 3-day notice to pay rent or quit, or 3-day notice.
This is mandatory whether the landlord wants the rent or just wants the tenant out and does not want rent. The notice must be served, must be served properly, and if the tenant pays the tenant stays (absent another basis for eviction).
Therefore the notice must be in the alternative to pay or vacate. It may not be simply a notice to vacate, nor simply a notice to pay.
- Serve in strict compliance with statutory time and manner requirements. See instructions on serving eviction notices.
- Do not include non-rent items. These should be on a ten-day notice to comply or vacate.
- More time or additional service methods may be required by the lease.
Eviction Notice Forms
In Washington other than Seattle
Residential properties in Seattle
Residential properties in Tacoma